Roses

I love having flowers in the house.  I have fond childhood memories of my mum cutting flowers from the garden on the weekend and arranging them for in the house.  Even when mum was in her nineties she still liked to have a vase of flowers on the dining table.

We have been so lucky this spring to have a wonderful show of roses in the garden.  I love roses and where we lived previously it was really difficult to grow them successfully as we had really poor soil and insufficient water.  We did get some roses but nowhere near as lovely as those we have in the garden now. These are some that I cut today.

I have several books on roses.  Susan Irvine is an Australian who has written a few books about growing roses in Australia.

My children give me the best gifts.  I have received some wonderful books from each one of them.

Leave a Reply

