Under the skin, does it get under your skin?

Scarlett Johansson is the star in a soon to be released movie called Under the Skin.  I came across an article in a weekend paper giving a bit of information about the upcoming movie and I thought that I had read a book with the same story line.  I checked through my list of books that I have read,(my memory isn’t so good) and sure enough I had read the book back in 2007.  The story is what I would call chilling as all is not as it appears to be. The book was written by Michael Faber and I had read The Crimson Petal and the White  followed by The Apple so I was looking for another book by this author when I chose Under the Skin, which is set in the Scottish Highlands and was actually Faber’s first published novel.

“Isserley spends most of her time driving. But why is she so interested in picking up hitchikers? And why are they always male, well-built and alone?
“An utterly unpredictable and macabre mystery, Michel Faber’s debut novel is an outstanding piece of fiction that will stay with you long after you have turned the final page.”

The author grew up in Australia and then emigrated to Scotland so he definitely fits my bill of being an Australian or Scottish author!

Leave a Reply

