A bit of a pickle!

We have a tree in our garden and this particular tree produces heaps of tiny limes.  When I say tiny I really mean tiny.

To get some idea of the size I have taken a photo comparing it with a matchbox.

If you wanted to make a daiquiri with these limes you would need about twelve to give you sufficient juice!  My husband tells me that the tree is a West Indian Lime tree as opposed to the Jamaican Lime tree that we have recently planted.  What to do with all these tiny limes?  We are very fond of curry in our house so the obvious answer was lime pickle.

I found this recipe in a magazine and made it last year and it was delicious so this year the recipe has been given another turn.

End result – three jars of lime pickle.

If you want to learn a bit about the phrase “in a pickle” just click on the link.  A bit of humour from Groucho Marx at the end!

3 thoughts on “A bit of a pickle!

  1. Delish! I remember those limes from my childhood in Malaysia. We’d make very refreshing lime juice drinks from them. I think the local Indians made chutney with them as well.

  2. Pingback: An abundance of limes | Gippsland Granny

Leave a Reply

