The Latrobe Valley, a varied landscape

I have spent the last few days in the Latrobe Valley.  We were staying in Traralgon, which is not my favourite place- it smells, literally.  In the many years that we have been visiting Traralgon, my husband’s parents lived there, there are many spots that I haven’t been to and over the past few days we visited some of them. The thing that struck me was the variety of environments to be found in a small part of the state.  These varied environments were within a few kilometres of Traralgon in the Latrobe Valley, sometimes known as Central Gippsland.

We first went to the opencut mine at Yallourn.  This is an impressive site.  It is huge. I had to use the zoom on my little camera so it is not as clear as I would have liked.

This is one of the many power stations nearby. The image of these cooling towers is often used when the idea of pollution wants to be conveyed. It is in fact steam coming out of the towers.

We then went to a lookout where we were able to see the devastating result of the Churchill bushfires of 2009.  This link will give you an idea of the devastation.  The Victorian Museum has a collection of objects of significance relating to the Black Saturday Bushfires.

ᔥ abc.net.au/news/2009-02-06/bushfires/286514

You can see how the bush regenerates so quickly. The trees in the foreground are burnt but have tufts of green at the top.

We then went to Tarra Bulga National Park and the difference in vegetation was incredible. It is cool temperate rainforest and the temperature change is remarkable.  You can feel the moisture in the air.  The scenery was beautiful and the size of the trees majestic.  It is difficult to convey in pictures the actual size but take my word for it, they were giants.

Apparently this myrtle beech tree is over 1,000 years old.

This is a mountain ash.

The national park has picnic areas which are situated among the tree ferns.

There is also a lovely swing bridge.  It is not the original, this one was built in 1992 I think.

We did further travels the next day but I will post about that later.

4 thoughts on “The Latrobe Valley, a varied landscape

  1. Please believe me when I say that Traralgon only smells when the wind is blowing towards it from the paper mill. Those days, I wish I wasn’t here – I agree, the smell is indescribably rotten. Pick your days to visit carefully and you’ll be right.

    • When I lived in Scotland there was a paper mill near Leuchars, where my father was in the airforce. The smell on the way there was terrible too.
      Yes we have had days in Traralgon when the smell wasn’t too bad. It seems to be worse when it is rainy.

Leave a Reply

