The Body in Action. . . .or is it inaction?

This is one of my non-fiction A-Z Book Challenge books.

From the book jacket:

Whether you suffer from aches, pains and creaky joints, or you simply feel old beyond your years, The Body in Action will help you achieve a better body and a healthier life.

Sarah Key shows you how to keep your skeleton young with a series of stretches designed to combat stiffness and pain.  Key shows you how to:

spot the tell-tale warning signs of imminent joint problems

take immediate action to reverse the trend

exercise to alleviate pain and restore full mobility.

. . . .extensively illustrated, with easy to follow advice and exercises, it will help you break the bad habits that come with our increasingly sedentary lifestyle.

Sarah Key (Back in Action ) is the physiotherapist to the British royal family. Well look at the ages of the Queen and the Duke of Edinburgh! This book was recommended to me by the nutritionist at the Type 2 Diabetes course that I attended some months ago. It has taken me a while to get around to reading it but it has been a worthwhile read.

Now that I am retired I am not as active as I used to be and I need to make sure that I keep all the muscles working.  Easier said than done.  Our lifestyle is becoming more and more sedentary, sitting reading, watching TV or participating in  repetitive movements like golf, exact a heavy toll on the human body. Eventually, joint mobility, flexibility, and muscle mass diminish until “pain is but a whisker away.” Key says that joints can be returned to suppleness through a series of yoga-inspired routines she devised that restore function and reduce pain in the spine, neck, shoulders, elbows, wrists, hips, knees, ankles, and feet.  The step-by-step gentle exercises, illustrated with line drawings, will appeal to the sedentary as well as to the fit.

I have read the book, now I just need to do the exercises!

One thought on “The Body in Action. . . .or is it inaction?

  1. This sounds interesting, I’m always on the lookout for books that will inspire me to more exercise. As you say, it’s one thing reading the book and another doing the exercises! I have a great book of stretches for the whole body and I have used it a fair bit but the trouble with a book is that you’re never sure if you’re doing it quite right. I wonder sometimes if I were doing my stretches in a class, if the teacher would be correcting my posture. I didn’t know that the Queen had her own physio, but she’s in great shape and maybe that’s why. Great credentials for the author!

Leave a Reply

