Are you getting enough sleep?

Have you wondered why you haven’t been sleeping well lately? The answer might be in this info graphic.

“Not getting enough sleep is a public health epidemic, according to the Centers for Disease Control and Prevention. We may not think that technology and gadgets hold sway over our dream time, but there’s evidence that it might. Studies have found that blue light often emitted from cell phones, some digital alarm clocks, and computers may disrupt circadian rhythms, leading to poorer sleep. Being woken up by a text can also throw our sleep patterns out of whack. Compromised sleep can lead to a number of health problems, including obesity and diabetes.

This infographic shows just how technology—from video games to television—is infiltrating our bedrooms and making it difficult to catch some z’s. So for the next lights out, make sure everything’s unplugged, including your cell phone. You probably won’t reget missing that text, but you will regret the extra hour of sleep it’ll cost you. ” [www.takepart.com]

I have been having a bit of trouble sleeping lately perhaps I need to look at the computer screen less before I go to bed or maybe more physical activity would be the answer to a better night’s sleep.  I hope I get back to my usual sleeping pattern soon.

4 thoughts on “Are you getting enough sleep?

  1. I’m sorry to hear about your sleep problems and hope your usual sleeping pattern returns soon. I’ve suffered from insomnia at various times throughout my life and I think there have been a variety of causes, including too much time in front of a computer screen. Do you read in bed? I do that every night and I think it helps a lot. I also try not to spend time on email and social media sites at night, I would rather watch a bit of TV, such as an interesting documentary or some lighthearted comedy, to help me to switch off. I do think that getting some physical exercise during the day helps too, because I’ve noticed that on days when I spend the whole day indoors I sometimes don’t sleep so well. For me at least, getting exercise in the afternoon seems to work well, several hours before bed, and not eating or drinking too much in the evening. I try to have my main meal in the middle of the day and more of a snacky thing in the evening, and since I started doing that I’ve been sleeping better.

    I think this is a problem affecting a large number of people and I definitely agree with switching off your mobile phone and computer. I keep my laptop in my bedroom and I put a cover over it at night so that there’s no blue light being emitted. In fact, I have my room as dark as possible, with a blackout blind and curtains, and I wear earplugs. (I got into the habit when working offshore on boats that were noisy places 24 hours a day and I can’t seem to get out of it now, but I do think it helps me to sleep well.)

    • Thanks Lorna for all your suggestions. My disrupted sleep has only been a recent thing so I hope trying some of your remedies will make it just a fleeting thing too! Here’s to a good night’s sleep.

      • I hope they work for you, Heather. After leaving all that advice I had one of the worst night’s sleeps I’ve had in ages last night! However, it reminded me to add another thing that sometimes works for me (and helped last night) and that is to listen to a meditation CD. I keep an mp3 player and headphones next to my bed in case I ever need it and sometimes it’s all I need to relax me and promote the big Zzzzzs. I’ve also taken to keeping my window open at night, even when it’s cold and frosty, because I think a bit of fresh air helps too.

        • Thanks again Lorna. I did have a good sleep last night. Sorry to hear that you didn’t. I will keep in mind your idea of a meditation tape. It sounds as though it would be ideal.

Leave a Reply

