Crazy tea cosies

I borrowed some books from the library recently and one of them was this one: Really Wild Tea Cosies by Loani Prior.

As you can see from the cover the cosies really are wild.  I decided I would give one of the more sedate cosies a try.  The pattern said it was ‘easy peasy ‘ and could be done in a night.  Well she was right about it being easy but the construction of the cubes caused a bit of an issue with me.  It was through my carelessness in snipping the joining wool and thus exploding the cube!  I had to make a new cube but it was all good practice.  Luckily for me I had this wonderful gadget that my elder daughter had given me.

Previously I have used circles of cardboard to make pompoms but this is so much quicker.

You wind the wool around the yellow parts and then fold them into the centre.  You then just make the pompom as you would with the cardboard circles.  Trimming to a cube shape proved to be a trial for me.

You might be wondering why I would need cubes for a tea cosy.  Well the tea cosy I made was called “Short black with two”.

I didn’t have any black wool so it has been knitted in a dark grey. You can see from the book illustration below that my cubes are a bit too big.  I will need to do some trimming!

While I was knitting I remembered that I had seen some really wild beanies at Floriade in Canberra one year.  I have included a few photos of those for your enjoyment.

7 thoughts on “Crazy tea cosies

Leave a Reply

