Trying my hand at Stollen

Stollen fresh from the oven
I usually make Sienna Cake at Christmas time but this year I thought I would try something different. I have just made Stollen, not from any fancy recipe book, it is just from the recipe book that goes with my bread making machine.

Since making the Stollen I have looked up recipes on the internet and there are certainly many variations. Now that I have made one I will give it another try using a different recipe. It was not difficult to make and apparently the secret is to use lots of melted butter at the end of the cooking. You smother the stollen in melted butter while it is still hot and then dust on the icing sugar, this forms a type of crust. I thought the icing sugar would melt, and it did, but you keep adding it and eventually you get the white to stay! It looks ok, I hope it tastes ok. I also read that it is better to make it well ahead of Christmas as it tastes better after a few weeks. I guess we will find out.

stollenYou can freeze it if you want to.

stollen recipeI will still make my Sienna Cake as I love that and would miss it if I didn’t make it.

5 thoughts on “Trying my hand at Stollen

    • I can recommend it. It is easy and it tastes delicious. We had some this morning after toasting it and spreading it with butter. I guess it is like a fruit loaf.
      I have sliced all of the stollen and frozen it so we can just take out a couple of slices when we need to.

Leave a Reply

