My recipe box, decoupaged from an old Donna Hay magazine

Red italicised words you can click to link to another page.

You may have noticed in yesterday’s post that I had a recipe box alongside the recipe card for Cumquat Jam.  recipe boxThe recipe box was originally a wooden filing box I used to use for keeping records of reading activity when I was teaching.  It is now used as a recipe box.  I decided to cover the box using some pictures from a Donna Hay magazine.  Click on the magazine to go to the website.

Donna Hay magazineThis particular food magazine always has beautiful photography and I thought it would be a good idea to use the photos on the box.  It was my first attempt at decoupage and I was quite delighted with the result.  I made this about fifteen years ago so it has stood the test of time.

Top of the box.top of the box

Back of the box.

back of the box

Side of the box.

side of box

Other side of the box.

other side of box

My family makes fun of my filing system as I seem to file things differently to them. 😉 e.g. All my salad recipes are under S for salad, all my cake recipes are under C for cake whereas they would file them L for Lemon Cake, S for Sultana Cake.  Different strokes for different folks.

I also used Donna Hay pictures from a calendar when framing pictures for the kitchen.

Donna Hay pictures

4 thoughts on “My recipe box, decoupaged from an old Donna Hay magazine

  1. I love Donna Hay- some of her recipes have become firm favourites of ours. And I think your filing system is perfectly logical- you have all the cake recipes together, all the salads together…

Leave a Reply

