Sienna Cake. . . a Christmas tradition started when my daughter was overseas.

I had made Sienna Cake a few times before my elder daughter left Australia to spend some years in London. Her first Christmas away from the family and our first Christmas without her was a time when I tried to “bottle Christmas” for her and send it to London. I think I packed a eucalyptus (gum) branch with Minties tied to it as decoration. (It’s moments like these you need Minties!)

MintiesI packed several particularly Aussie foods and I included my Sienna Cake.  Since that Christmas I have always made a Sienna Cake.  My daughter now lives in Melbourne which is not nearly as far away as London!

The Sienna Cake I make is taken from an Australian Woman’s Weekly Cookbook so even though it is an Italian cake it has an Australian link.:-)

Woman's Weekly Italian Cooking Class CookbookThe recipe really is quite simple.  The only tricky part is when you mix in the toffee/honey and melted chocolate as the mixture becomes quite stiff and you need to work quickly.

Sienna Cake recipeThe ingredients can be altered slightly.  For example I use dried apricots and I sometimes use slivered almonds instead of whole blanched almonds which then need to be chopped.  I have also used dried pineapple instead of glacé pineapple.

some ingredientsThis year I have used organic cocoa instead of my usual Cadburys Bourneville.

more ingredientsUnfortunately I forgot to take a photo of the finished cake before I wrapped it ready to take to Melbourne.  You will just have to take my word for it that it looked the same as the one in the book.

Sienna CakeThis cake is truly delicious.  You only need a very thin slice to have with a cup of coffee or tea. The cake will keep for weeks but it doesn’t get a chance in our household.

3 thoughts on “Sienna Cake. . . a Christmas tradition started when my daughter was overseas.

Leave a Reply

