I want to ride my bicycle

I finally managed to get myself organised enough to go for a bike ride yesterday.  It has been at least eight months since I last had my bike out of the shed. I’ll admit we were overseas for three of those months but five months is a long time between rides.

Today was a beautiful day, not too hot and not too cold, for a bike ride.  I packed the bike into the back of the car and drove to Nicholson.  Nicholson is on the East Gippsland Rail Trail. I have blogged about this particular ride previously, here.

I left the car at Nicholson and rode to Bairnsdale and back, a total of 18 km, an easy ride.  It was great to get back on the bike again.

While I was in Bairnsdale I took the opportunity to stop for a coffee at Howitt Park. You will need to click on the photo to be able to read the information. The Bills Horse trough is in the photo below this one.

Howitt Park

Bills Horse trough
Howitt Park is well known for the scarred tree. This tree is protected as it is an important part of Aboriginal Heritage.OLYMPUS DIGITAL CAMERA

I took this photo below with the zoom on my little point and shoot camera so it is not as clear as I would like it.  Again you can read it more clearly if you click on the photo.OLYMPUS DIGITAL CAMERA
Recently there has been a bit of work going on in the park as the slide was being relocated.  Originally it was much closer to the scarred tree, now it has been moved to allow a fenced off vegetation area around the tree.

slide
The scarred tree is to the right of the slide.  You can’t see it but you can see the fenced off vegetation area.
OLYMPUS DIGITAL CAMERA The slide is very popular and no matter what day of the week it is you will always find kids there having fun.  I watched for a while, had my coffee and then headed home.  One of the lovely things about the Rail Trail is that you will find park benches strategically placed along the trail.  Most of these benches have been donated by Rotary or Lions Clubs and several have been donated by families. This one was donated by the Selwyn Family and wishes passers by “Happy Riding”.

OLYMPUS DIGITAL CAMERAHopefully my next ride will be sooner than five months!

And for those of you who recognise the song lyric. . . .

9 thoughts on “I want to ride my bicycle

  1. I love the tree and we also have some trails where people have made donations for the benches. Hope you have another ride soon 🙂

  2. I’ve got that song going round my head now! The scarred tree is very interesting, are there other such trees dotted about, or is this one unique? A bike ride in the sunshine sounds lovely. I got bike lights for Christmas but unfortunately the snow and ice has prevented me from doing any cycling so far. I think it’ll be a couple of months before I venture out.

    • Yes there are many scarred trees throughout the country but more so in the less populated areas. It has only been in the recent past that Australians have come to embrace their Aboriginal heritage. It is good to see it happening it long last.

      I am hoping to venture on another bike ride next week. When we lived near Canberra I used to meet my sister in Canberra and we would go for a bike ride together. I miss having that regular bike ride with her. I really need to push myself to go for a ride on my own.

      • It’s been a long struggle between Aboriginals and settlers, hasn’t it? Still ongoing, but as you say at least moving in the right direction. I also need to get out on my bike, although not until the snow disappears. I used to cycle quite a bit but then I didn’t have a bike for years. I was given a second hand bike last year and this year I hope to get back in the saddle and explore new places. I think a bike rack for my car would be an excellent acquisition.

        • I don’t have a bike rack but I feel I should get one. I usually put down the back seat and take the front wheel off my bike then lift my bike into the car. It is a bit of a struggle at times so I think I should invest in a bike rack.

Leave a Reply

