Crazy for the blue white and red! Apologies to the musical “Hair”

I have been doing quite a bit of crochet recently.  I used to prefer knitting to crochet but now I think I enjoy both of them equally.  This rug is made from wool from my stash.  The blue wool is from a frogged jumper originally made in 1980.  I remember the year because it was the year our second daughter was born.

I saw the pattern for this blanket on the blog Attic 24 The pattern is called Ripple.  Some call the pattern Chevron.  I think the ripples would need to be deeper for it to be called Chevron.

ripple rug
I originally started doing one row of each colour then increasing by a row each time but lost the pattern half way through so it doesn’t maintain the pattern for the complete rug but you don’t notice unless it is pointed out.

The blob of red in the bottom right hand corner is a red flower which is unfinished.  I have to sew in the ends and then attach it to the rug.  I just put in the row of red for a bit of contrast.  I’m not sure if I should put an edge around the rug.  I will live with it for a few days and then make the decision.

unfinished flowerFor some reason the rug reminds me of Les Miserables. 🙂  I must have musicals on the brain right now.

Les Miserables

7 thoughts on “Crazy for the blue white and red! Apologies to the musical “Hair”

  1. That’s lovely. I like to crochet because it is fast, but I think I am a better knitter x I haven’t done much crochet for a while, I tend to go through phases!

  2. Very stylish! I think it’s lovely as it is without a border, that splash of red really makes an impact, but I’m sure it would also be delightful with the border. You really are marvellous with your needles!

Leave a Reply

