Love it or hate it seems to be the reaction

My husband doesn’t really enjoy going to the movies so it is quite some time since I was last at the movies. I think the last movie I saw at the theatre was with my daughters and the movie was “Australia” by Baz Lurman.

Australia the movie

Anyway, I finally decided that I would just have to go to the movies on my own if I wanted to see this next movie. The movie was Les Miserables. You have probably seen it or at least read reviews on it but I can tell you that the reviews have nothing on the actual film.

8159151

I came away stunned. It is a long movie but I was enthralled throughout. I became wrapped up in the emotion of the story and even some rather questionable singing from Russell Crowe did little to dampen my enthusiasm.

Hugh Jackman is monumental in the role of Jean Valjean and he has already proved his singing capabilities in other musicals. ( I wonder if anything can be read into the fact that Hugh Jackman was in the last movie I had seen. 🙂 ) Anne Hathaway did a memorable job of the role of Fontaine and her singing of I Dreamed a Dream had me sobbing into my hanky.

The entire story is sung so if you are not into musicals I suggest you don’t go to see it. If you have seen the stage show then you will love this film version. Many of the reviewers question whether actors should have played the roles and say that it would have succeeded if singers who could act had been chosen for the roles. I think it has succeeded with actors who can sing. It is really only Russell Crowe who is the exception.

A monumental movie well worth seeing.

Helena-les-miserables-2012-movie-32909317-500-555

I forgot to mention the comic roles played by Sacha Baron Cohen and Helena Bonham Carter They provided some light relief in an otherwise heavily emotional piece.

3 thoughts on “Love it or hate it seems to be the reaction

  1. I keep hearing about this movie but I don’t think it’s my kind of thing (I did see the stage version and I didn’t particularly enjoy it), but I’m interested to see that Helena Bonham Carter and Sacha Baron Cohen are in it, I didn’t know that. There’s no cinema where I live now but I used to love going to a Saturday matinee on my own when I lived in the city, it felt sort of decadent.

    • I enjoyed the visit and will certainly do it again, in fact I have already done so and have been to see Quartet. I will let you know what I thought of that in a post.

  2. I haven’t seen Les Mis the film, but have seen it in the West End. Honestly, I loved the set but eventually tired of the refrain in the music. We are going to see Quartet later in March when it comes to our village hall. I’ll blog about it then.

Leave a Reply

