Crewel Embroidery….English spelling is a puzzle

Cruel I know.  Crewel is another matter altogether.

the new crewelMy elder daughter gave me this book a few years ago and I have finally got around to finishing a piece of crewel embroidery.  The book has some stunning designs in it and I think I will probably make something else from the book at a later stage.

OLYMPUS DIGITAL CAMERAThe piece I chose to make was a simple one but it has taken me a while to finish as I tend to have several projects on the go at the same time.

crewel cushionThis one looks good from a distance but not so good up close.  The embroidery is on white linen.

crewel workI love the availability of information on the internet.  I had forgotten how to do French knots and was able to go on the internet and find a video tutorial that brought it all back to me.

One thought on “Crewel Embroidery….English spelling is a puzzle

  1. I think you’re a perfectionist, it looks pretty good to me zoomed in! Your range of creative pursuits is impressive and you always have some lovely results to show from them. I can’t imagine not having access to so much instant information now, the internet really has changed the way we live our lives.

Leave a Reply

