Twinings tea tins are they worth anything? I don’t think so.

We have been Twinings tea drinkers for many, many years and when we were first married we bought Twinings tea in tins and have kept those tins.  I was reminded of this when Lorna, of Tearoom Delights did a post about Twinings Yunnan tea.  I noticed the number of Twinings teas in her tea cupboard and it prompted me to have a closer look at our tea cupboard.

tea cupboard

Twinings produce a great variety of teas but availability varies depending on which country you live in.  Some of the teas we used to be able to get are no longer available.  I guess they do market research and only market the popular ones.

The reason I mentioned the Twinings tins is that the tins that are available now are very different to these “ancient” ones you see here.

We keep three tins on our kitchen window sill as these are the ones that are used most frequently.  The others are kept in the cupboard.

tea tins 2My husband is the tea connoisseur.  I am the one who drinks the English Breakfast, Blackcurrant and Lemon Scented.

I thought the tins might be worth something as they are no longer made like this but I have discovered that you can pick them up at markets or op shops for as little as $1.

At the Twinings Australian website you can view the tins that are available today.

Twinings tins website

You might like to have a look at the Twinings tea tin collection of Stano Breja.  Now that is a collection of tea tins!

8 thoughts on “Twinings tea tins are they worth anything? I don’t think so.

  1. I’d pay more than $1 for your tea tins, they’re lovely! Do you keep leaf tea in them? That chap’s tea tin collection is amazing, and I like what he’s written on his home page: “Information about individual tea tins is currently stored and displayed in Slovak language. We apologize for the incovenience.” It’s never occurred to me to collect tea tins but now I feel I’m missing out.

  2. I hope things in tins never go out of fashion. They are great for storing things in and they don’t go out of date. I like how organized your drawer is. My teas generally get stashed in the cupboard and are not quite as neatly stacked as yours. 😉

  3. I’m desperate to find some of the old vintage tins and I can’t find any in the UK and I’ve been hunting for ages!! Can’t believe you can pick them up for $1!

Leave a Reply

