Is it a stage production or a movie? Anna Karenina

I took myself along to see the movie Anna Karenina as my elder daughter had said that she thought I might enjoy it.  I certainly did.Anna-Karenina-Poster

Anna Karenina is a book that has been on my list of books to read, for longer than I can remember.  Now I have seen this movie I am determined to get the book read.

The movie blows you away with the stunning photography and beautiful costumes.  I enjoyed the way the movie moves from a stage setting into real life and then back to a stage setting.  It is very cleverly produced and the effect is stunning.  I also enjoyed the choreography of the movie particularly the dance scene involving Anna and her lover. The build up of tension in the scene reminded me of the gold medal winning ice dance sequence of Torvill and Dean at the Olympic Games, many years ago.

The performance of the actors is also extremely good with the outstanding character, in my view, being Jude Law in the role of the government minister Karenin.

You can see what David and Margaret had to say about  Anna Karenina at At the Movies

I would certainly recommend that you see this movie if you have not already done so.

3 thoughts on “Is it a stage production or a movie? Anna Karenina

  1. I do want to see the film, I have tried to read the book twice but just couldn’t get into it although it is also on my must read list, maybe seeing the film will encourage me to read it 🙂

Leave a Reply

