Tuesday travels now in the U.K.. . .Colchester

After our short stay in Normandy we headed across the Channel to the UK.  My husband, who enjoys history, had expressed a desire to visit Colchester, Britain’s first Roman city, and so it was that we spent our first night there. What a revelation it was to me.  I am no history buff but I was amazed at the history on view in the town, from Roman times onwards.

Town HallThe ornate architecture of the town hall.

water tower

An unusual water tower.

Roman archways

A Roman gateway and wallsThe largest surviving Roman gateway in Britain, The Balkerne Gate.

Balkerne GateColchester Castle – my next travel post will be about the actual museum within the castle.

Colchester CastleColchester castle gardens

Castle gardensA very clever anti-litter sign.

piggyI was glad that my husband had suggested we stay in Colchester.

5 thoughts on “Tuesday travels now in the U.K.. . .Colchester

    • Yes. These Tuesday travels are from a trip we did last year. While we were away I did no blogging at all and decided to blog about our trip when we got home.

  1. Whenever my husband suggested a place to visit, I’d tend to wrinkle my nose and say “really?” But he was always spot on and the places were interesting and memorable. I’m glad Colchester was good!

Leave a Reply

