Three titles, some recent reads.

I have been doing a fair bit of reading recently so now is time to catch up on the books I read.

The Fear Index by Robert Harris, The Dogs of Riga by Henning Mankell and Innocent Graves by Peter Robinson – all crime fiction books.

books
The Fear Index was the first one I read.  I have read several Robert Harris books and enjoyed each one of them.  This book was a departure from his previous themes and it centred around the global financial crisis.  The tension in the book was palpable but I have to admit that I skipped over the parts where there was too much jargon about economics.  Apart from that aspect it was a good thriller and now I fully understand what a hedge fund is.  You will find an extensive review of the book here.

The second book I read was The Dogs of Riga.  I haven’t read any of Henning Mankell’s books but I had heard of the protagonist, Kurt Wallander.  There is a television series starring Kenneth Branagh.

branagh

I’m not sure if it has been on television in Australia but I read about it when it was a series on British tv.  Again I have started an author, not at the beginning of the books written.  This is the second in the Wallander series.

From the cover:

Sweden, winter, 1991. Inspector Kurt Wallander and his team receive an anonymous tip-off. A few days later a life raft is washed up on a beach. In it are two men, dressed in expensive suits, shot dead.

The dead men were criminals, victims of what seems to have been a gangland hit. But what appears to be an open-and-shut case soon takes on a far more sinister aspect. Wallander travels across the Baltic Sea, to Riga in Latvia, where he is plunged into a frozen, alien world of police surveillance, scarcely veiled threats, and lies. Doomed always to be one step behind the shadowy figures he pursues, only Wallander’s obstinate desire to see that justice is done brings the truth to light.

I will be reading more titles by this author in the future.  A great read.

The final book was Innocent Graves by Peter Robinson.  This book was first published in 1997 and the protagonist is Inspector Banks.  Once I started the book I realised that I have read many Inspector Banks novels but obviously a long time ago as they were not fresh in my memory.  This is #8  in the series which has produced  21 books and several television series 

Banks_595This was a very quick read but enjoyable all the same.

2 thoughts on “Three titles, some recent reads.

  1. I should read that first one, I could do with understanding hedge funds. I started watching Wallander, expecting great things since Kenneth Branagh was in it, but I’m afraid I found it depressing and switched off. Maybe I’d find the books more appealing.

Leave a Reply

