A classic I hadn’t read since my teen years.

Jane Eyre by Charlotte Bronte. My elder daughter asked me recently if I had seen the movie Jane Eyre in which Judi Dench plays a role.

Judi Dench

I admitted that I hadn’t but it got me thinking what role would Judy Dench be playing. I had to admit to myself that I had only a vague memory of the story line and I needed to re read the novel. I downloaded a version from Gutenberg to read on the train to Melbourne but realised after about 1000 pages on my phone that I much prefer to read from a hard copy so I bought myself a $5 copy and set about it.

jane eyre

I am so glad I did. It was a revelation. I had completely forgotten how beautiful the language is and I had to resort to the dictionary on a few occasions to check the meanings of some of the words which are very rarely used in today’s novels.

From the cover:

As an orphan, Jane’s childhood is not an easy one but her independence and strength of character keep her going through the miseries inflicted by cruel relatives and a brutal school. However, her biggest challenge is yet to come. Taking a job as a governess in a house full of secrets, for a passionate man she grows more and more attracted to, ultimately forces Jane to call on all her resources in order to hold on to her beliefs

A wonderful story that you should revisit if it is a long time since you last read it or one you should read if you have not already done so.

jane-eyre

Here is a trailer from the movie.

You can find a post comparing the book to the movie here.

I will now need to hire the DVD and watch the movie.

7 thoughts on “A classic I hadn’t read since my teen years.

  1. I was just thinking yesterday that I’ve read a lot of modern novels recently and I’d like to read a classic next. I’m sure I’ve got a copy of this somewhere, I’m going to hunt it down. Thanks for the reminder!

  2. I adored the tv movie filmed in 2006 first then bought a copy of the book. Adored it. I love it like I love Jane Austen. And finally the trains are back running from Bairnsdale for you! About time!

    • Thanks for the comment. We got two train vouchers in the mail the day after our return from Melbourne so another trip to Melbourne is on the cards soon.

  3. You know what – I’ve never read this. I’ve watched a movie or two, but never read it. I’ve got some holidays coming up, maybe it’s time to fit it into my life. Thanks for the reminder that sometimes a classic is worth the read. PS. like the feel of snow on your page.

Leave a Reply

