Christmas muesli or Christmas granola

This muesli is actually a gingerbread muesli but it makes the kitchen smell Christmassy when you have it in the oven.

I usually only eat raw muesli as I prefer that but when I was at my elder daughter’s recently she was making this muesli and it smelt delicious.  I had the opportunity to taste it too and since then I have made it several times at home.

From the blog Cookies and Kate:
Gingerbread Granola
Recipe type: Breakfast
Prep time:  10 mins
Cook time:  30 mins
Total time:  40 mins
Irresistible spiced granola with the flavors of gingerbread, including molasses, ginger and cinnamon. Sweetened with maple syrup and dried cranberries, this granola is gluten free as long as you use gluten-free oats.
Ingredients
  • 4 cups old-fashioned rolled oats
  • 1 1/2 cups raw pecans and/or walnuts
  • 1 teaspoon fine-grain sea salt (I used 1/2 teaspoon)
  • 1/2 teaspoon cinnamon
  • 1/2 teaspoon ground ginger
  • 1/2 cup melted coconut oil (or olive oil)
  • 1/3 cup real maple syrup
  • 1/4 cup molasses  (I omitted the molasses/treacle and it still tastes delicious)
  • 3/4 teaspoon vanilla
  • 1/2 cup coconut flakes (I used about 3/4 cup of coconut flakes)
  • 1/3 cup chopped dried cranberries ( I used about 3/4 cup of cranberries)
  • 1/3 cup chopped candied ginger
Instructions
  • Preheat the oven to 350 degrees Fahrenheit and line a half-sheet pan with parchment paper. In a large mixing bowl, combine the oats, nuts, salt, cinnamon and ground ginger. oats, nuts etcStir thoroughly to combine.
  • Stir in the oil, maple syrup, molasses and vanilla. ( I didn’t use molasses)maple syrup etc
  • Turn the granola out onto your prepared pan and use a large spoon to spread it in an even layer. two pansBake for 20 minutes, then remove from the oven and top with coconut flakes. Mix in the coconut and stir up the mixture to make sure the granola cooks evenly. Return the pan to the oven for 10 more minutes.IMG_1082
  • In the meantime, roughly chop the dried cranberries and candied ginger. After 10 minutes is up, remove the pan from the oven and add the chopped cranberries and ginger. Stir to combine.IMG_1084
  • Let the granola cool before enjoying. The granola will continue cooking just a bit in the cooling process, so if it seems a little wet at first, don’t worry.
  • Store the granola in an airtight container. It should stay fresh for 1 to 2 weeks. Store in the refrigerator for longer shelf life.muesli
The jar on the left is my raw muesli and the Christmas muesli is on the right.  There is also no need to adhere strickly to this recipe.  You can add whatever takes your fancy.  My previous batch had sunflower seeds and pepitas included.
Notes
    • Yields 5 to 6 cups of granola.

2 thoughts on “Christmas muesli or Christmas granola

  1. I’ve never made my own granola but I’m tempted to try it, especially after seeing this post. It was helpful of you to add in the quantities you used as well as those in the recipe. I can imagine your kitchen must have smelled glorious.

    • I have to confess that I tend to dip my hand in the jar when passing and nibble on a handful of the muesli. It is a tempting treat, not just at breakfast time.
      The kitchen smelled delightful when I was cooking the muesli.

Leave a Reply

