Peace of mind when cycling on my own

When I go for a bike ride on my own I have often thought what would happen if I had an accident. I know that my husband knows I have gone on a ride but doesn’t know exactly where I am at any given moment.  I have found an app that will help to solve that problem – the Road ID iphone app, and it is free.

cycling appThis app allows you to notify chosen individuals when you have set out on your bike ride.  They can then keep track of where you are and if you stop moving an alert is sent to them.  Obviously there is the capability for you to disengage the alert if you stop for a coffee or for some other reason. (The idea that the tracking is via eCrumb gave me a giggle as it reminded me of Hansel and Gretel) 🙂

cycling app2I found the app on the blog All Seasons Cyclist and you can find his wonderfully clear review of the app here. You really need to visit that site to get a clear picture of what the app does.  It can be used for when you are walking or running, not just cycling.

3 thoughts on “Peace of mind when cycling on my own

  1. Pingback: A neglected bike | Gippsland Granny

Leave a Reply

