Rhubarb, rhubarb, rhubarb.

I have just harvested five kilos of rhubarb and prepared it for freezing and there is still plenty of rhubarb left on the crown.

rhubarbNow I am checking out rhubarb recipes so I will make full use of the harvest.

rhubarb muffinsI have found a few recipes to try.  The muffin recipe is from the book  Muffin Bible.

rhubarb cakeThe rhubarb cake is from A Year in a Bottle.

rhubarb and strawberry freeform tartThe Rhubarb and Strawberry freeform tart is from Stephanie Alexander’s Kitchen Garden Companion.

The tart looks delicious in the book.

rhubarb freeform tart

I think that along with rhubarb crumble that will be enough to keep me going.

I am not keen on rhubarb jam so I will not be making any of that.

If you have a favourite rhubarb recipe you would like to share with me, please let me know.

6 Comments Add yours

  1. What a wonderful harvest! One thing I remember from my childhood is rhubarb fool, made from cooled stewed rhubarb and custard. I always think of it as a silky smooth dessert perfect for sunny days. I’m sure my mum will have a recipe somewhere if you’re interested.

    1. suth2 says:

      That sounds delicious Lorna. I would appreciate the recipe.

      1. I asked my mum and she says it’s not a recipe she’s got written down but you cut up some rhubarb, stew it, and add a little sugar. You then make a thickish custard (I suppose you could make your own from scratch but she uses Birds’ custard powder that you mix up with milk) and combine it with the stewed rhubarb, adding sugar to taste. She combines them while both custard and rhubarb are warm, and quite likes to eat it while still warm but you can also cool it and have it as a chilled dessert. I’m afraid she doesn’t have any weights or measures but I think she makes up a pint of custard and uses perhaps 3 rhubarb stalks? That’s just a guess, and you could make it more or less rhubarby, according to your own tastes. She does the same thing with stewed gooseberries, which is also very nice.

        1. suth2 says:

          Thank you for that Lorna. I will certainly give it a go.

  2. I made rhubarb and ginger jam last year and gave it to people for Xmas (kept loads for me too – it was delish!). Can’t get enough of it! 🙂

  3. Kelly says:

    I inherited a few rhubarb plants when I bought this house and felt like I had to learn to use it. Try this recipe: http://growtocook.wordpress.com/2012/05/27/a-rhubarb-recipe-for-all-good-eggs/ It’s my favourite way of using rhubarb. I’m still trying to find a savoury way of using it though; seems like it’s only ever used in sweets.

Leave a comment

This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.