Bruthen to Bumberrah Bike Ride

Yesterday I went for my first bike ride of 2014 on part of the East Gippsland Rail Trail. I drove to Bruthen and then rode from Bruthen to Bumberrah and back to Bruthen.  I have done this part of the rail trail many times. We have had quite severe winds here over the last couple of days and as a result there were a few trees down on the rail trail and I had to lift my bike over the trees.

fallen treesAt Bumberrah there used to be a railway station but now there is just a shelter that also provides information for the people using the rail trail.

Bumberrahshelter

warnings and informationinfoThere was a new addition to the trail this time. Some art work has been installed in one of the tunnels.  You can see that the exhibition is long finished but some of the works were still there.  If you click on the slow-e-motion picture you can see it in a larger scale and you will be able to read it.

exhibition information

After I had completed my bike ride I met my husband at the Bullant Brewery in Bruthen and we had a delightful lunch.

I had prawn and avocado salad. A lovely way to finish off the morning.

Bullant Brewery lunch

6 thoughts on “Bruthen to Bumberrah Bike Ride

    • How wonderful to hear from you Les. Bumberrah is a lovely part of the Victorian countryside. There is no evidence of houses near the spot where the station used to be. How long ago was it when your parents looked after the railway station?

Leave a Reply

