These olives are not for the birds

Since moving to Metung I have developed an absolute love of olives, particularly those from our local producer.  I have posted before about buying olives at the Metung market and on one occasion we purchased an olive tree from the stall holder.  The tree is of the species that produces these particular olives, Ligurian.

Metung OlivesWe have now reached the stage  where the small tree that we purchased is producing fruit. Unfortunately the birds seem to think that the fruit is for them.  The main culprits are crimson rosellas.

rosella

To solve the issue with the birds we have covered the tree with orchard netting.

tree net coveredThe netting should provide some protection.

olives behind netHopefully some of the olives will get the chance to ripen but in the meantime I will continue to buy Sunny Bank Olives.

9 thoughts on “These olives are not for the birds

  1. I am sorry that the birds are eating your olives but the birds are very beautiful. What is that lovely white flower behind the bird? Is it a magnolia? I hope the netting works out for you.

    • The flower behind is a succulent calledCotyledon orbiculata – pigs ear. It is a lovely silvery colour with beautiful bell shaped flowers at the end of a tall stalk.

  2. Good luck you! The poor birds probably just cannot understand why some fruit is for them and others not! ;D I like your solution. I plan to do the same when I have a place I can plant fruit trees.

    • We have a small netted in orchard at the back of our garden but the netting has become rather tatty and needs replacing. Rabbits and birds are responsible for making the holes in the netting.

  3. The taste of olives make me feel as if I’m on holiday. It’s great that you can grow your own, hopefully the birds will leave you a few. Incidentally, I still can’t see your photos, and I can’t see mine on my blog either, although I can see them on other blogs. I wonder if it’s something to do with certain themes blogs use, although why it should happen all of a sudden like this I don’t know. I’ll have to get onto my dad’s computer to have a look at your pictures. For some reason, I’m only experiencing this on my laptop, his has no problem with it.

    • I can see your pictures now, that’s an impressive bit of netting! Surely that’ll keep the birds off your olives. I’m not sure what was wrong but somehow my laptop is fixed now, something to do with the cache I think but it’s a bit of a mystery to me. The main thing is I can view all your lovely photos again, which is a relief.

Leave a Reply

