The school of essential ingredients

school of essential ingredients

From the cover:

Every Monday night eight strangers gather for a cooking class taught by a chef whose alchemy in the kitchen is legendary.  However, it soon becomes clear that they have all come seeking a recipe for something beyond the kitchen and Lillian is no ordinary teacher.

One by one, her charges are transformed by learning to savour the aromas, flavours and textures of what they create.  A man learns about love while creating tiramisu, a white-on-white cake prompts wistful reflections on the sweet fragility of marriage and a peppery heirloom tomato sauce sparks one romance but ends another.

Slowly but surely, the essence of Lillian’s cooking wafts beyond the restaurant and lives are changed forever as teacher and student each discover their own essential ingredients.

This was such a delightful book.  I finished it with a “feel good” feeling.  There were several aspects of the book that I could relate to particularly the character Claire.  I can remember attending cooking classes when I was a new mum.  I just needed to do something which was for me as me, not me as someone’s mother or wife.

“This class was different.  These students gave to each other, reaching out among themselves with such grace.  She saw how connected their lives had become and would remain.”

The story in this book is told through each of the students in the cooking class, all so very different and yet love playing a vital part.

“. . .there are many kinds of love and not all of them are obvious, some wait, like presents in the back of a closet, until you are able to open them.”

 This was a book that was read very quickly as it was such an enjoyable, feel good book. Perhaps an overuse of similes and metaphors but descriptive writing.
 

2 thoughts on “The school of essential ingredients

  1. I think it might make me hungry, that book. Not the sort I would take to bed with me, or I’d be forever having to get up to fix snacks. Interesting point about the overuse of similies and metaphors, that very subject has been on my mind lately. I’ve noticed that it seems to be a very popular style in modern novels, likening things to other things instead of just saying what they are and leaving it at that. I think the reason it irks me is that I can’t think up these things myself!

Leave a Reply

