The second J is Joanna, for Joanna Lumley

This is a book I borrowed from the library as it caught my eye on the display shelf.

Absolutely I think I first remember Joanna Lumley as Purdey in the New Avengers.

New avengersOf course she is more noted recently for her role as Patsy Stone in Absolutely Fabulous

Patsy Stoneand for her work in gaining rights for the Gurkhas. I think the last time I saw her on television was when she was doing a travel program where she went to view the “Northern Lights”.

This autobiography was very entertaining.  Joanna confesses to being a bit of a hoarder and she found that it was difficult to select photos for inclusion in the biography.  It was more a case of ‘what do I leave out?”.  The biography has many photographs to enhance the story of her life in fact you could probably say this was more a photo album with added story.

I had no idea that she had been a model and a “Bond Girl’  or that she was born in India. The telling of her life in India and her time at boarding school in the UK make for interesting reading.  This is a woman who is full of life and has a clear sense of justice.  The biography was enlightening – a feisty woman.

There is a wonderful review of the book here in the Guardian.

8 thoughts on “The second J is Joanna, for Joanna Lumley

  1. I loved her on Ab Fab! I remember Eddie asking her when the last time she ate and she had to think before replying 1974 ………… hilarious!

  2. She’s a national treasure. I wouldn’t mind reading this book some time myself. She did a BBC documentary recently about Will.i.am, which was quite intriguing. Normally she’s the one in the spotlight, very confident and self assured, but for that documentary she was almost behind the camera, hanging around waiting for the great man to be ready, following him around, etc. She showed a vulnerability that I hadn’t seen before, and while I was watching it I was as interested in her as in getting a peep into Will.i.am’s life.

    • I have to confess I had to check out who Will.i.am was. I had no idea who he was but now I know. We have The Voice on tv here in Australian but it is the Australian version. I haven’t watched it but have seen articles on it in the press.

      • I thought he might be familiar to you because I believe he’s gone to Australia to be one of the judges on The Voice, along with Kylie Minogue. Both of them were judges on The Voice UK earlier this year.

        • I knew Kylie was going to be a judge but not the other personality. I guess the press would take more notice of an Australian returning to the country to be a judge. Kylie has a huge following here in Australia. Her sister, Danni, was a judge on the previous series of The Voice.

          • I’ve sometimes wondered if Kylie is as big in her native land as she is in the UK. I believe she’s been living in London for years now, although no doubt has homes in Australia and probably elsewhere. I didn’t know that Dannii had been a judge on The Voice. She was on the X-Factor for a while here.

            • Maybe it was the X-Factor and not The Voice. I don’t watch much tv so I would only have seen it mentioned in the paper or on the internet.

Leave a Reply

