Well, Hello Dolly!

My younger daughter recently asked me if I would make a doll for the child she is expecting.  She wanted a doll the same as the one I had made for her when she was little.

You can see the doll peeping out of the cardboard box on the left side. I’m not sure if that is her doll or her sisters.

FionaShe doesn’t know the sex of the baby yet so I can only make the body of the doll and do the rest when the baby is born.

I made dolls for each of our children.

jeremyThis one is in the toy basket that sits in our family room now for when the youngest grandchild visits.

jeremy2 The first doll was Jemima, named after the Playschool doll.  The second doll was Josephine and the last one, which you can see here, was Jeremy.

Jeremy was our son’s and it got a bit more wear and tear than the girl dolls.  It has had some repair done where the arm came adrift after some vigorous tussling!

The pattern is from 1978 but as I keep all my patterns I found it in my pattern box.

doll patternUnfortunately I don’t have the shoe pattern but I should be able to conjure something up.

pattern backI generally have some calico in my stash and so I was able to get the pieces cut out yesterday.

pattern piecesI should get the body of the doll done today then we just need to wait until the baby is born to do the hair and clothing.

5 thoughts on “Well, Hello Dolly!

  1. I might be about the same generation as your kids because I remember a similar doll. Isn’t it funny that we want for our kids the things we loved the most! I recall the pure joy of my sisters when we cleaned out my parents garage to find some of our old toys, which were then passed directly on to the next generation for years more fun. Your a great Granny!

    • Thank you Tamara.
      I still have some of our kids old toys and they are played with by our grandchildren. I also kept most of their books and they too were passed on.

Leave a Reply

