A new taste for me.

loquat treeThis tree is on the back boundary of our neighbour’s property and he no longer lives there.  Our daughter, while she was visiting us last week, noticed a similar tree on the nature strip on our house street and asked what type of tree it was.  I had sussed this out the previous year and found out that it was a loquat tree.  I have never eaten loquats before but our daughter thought it would be worth a try.  She got on to Pinterestloquats pinterest

and found many recipes using loquats and we decided to give loquat crumble a try. The recipe comes from the website The Domestic Front. 

loquat crumble recipe

We forgot to take pictures as we were assembling the crumble until it was ready to go into the oven.

ready for the ovenThe loquats have large seeds and we removed the skins.  You can leave the skin on but we decided not to.

cooked crumble

The cooked crumble was delicious and it is a taste that I really like.  It is difficult to describe but it is sort of like a mix of rhubarb and apple.  There is tartness to it but it was also sweet.  The texture is similar to pear.

good cropAs you can see from the photo there is a good crop so I will be trying out some other loquat recipes.

Loquat dacquiri sounds like a good idea. 🙂

2 thoughts on “A new taste for me.

  1. Sign me up for the daiquiri! Of course I wouldn’t mind the crumble either. It seems my weight loss isn’t going to happen soon …… I’m in a baking/cooking mood!

    • I had promised myself that I would lose some weight for summer but it hasn’t happened yet! I think the fact that I eat too much has something to do with it. 🙂

Leave a Reply

