Jean Paul Gaultier at the NGV

The Jean Paul Gaultier Exhibition at the National Gallery of Victoria was an exhibition I was fortunate enough to have the time to visit while in Melbourne.  The actual exhibition space was very busy but I was still able to make good use of my time and get round the whole exhibition.

The fashions were certainly startling but that was to be expected, what I had not expected was the wide range of materials with which he made his fashions.  There was a dress that had been made from film strips and another which was made entirely of ribbon.

ribbon IMG_2589An aspect of the exhibition that was intriguing was the use of moving pictures on models so it gave the impression that the models were speaking and looking at you.

Again it was an exhibition that was well worth the visit.  The amazing textiles that were used to create the fashions were mind boggling.

 

4 thoughts on “Jean Paul Gaultier at the NGV

    • The designs certainly caught my attention but there was nothing that appeared to be of a practical nature but I guess that is not what couturier designers make.

    • Certainly there was nothing there that I would even think about wearing. I guess there are people who do wear these items but I must admit I haven’t seen any.

Leave a Reply

