Purlsoho or Purlbee have you heard of either?

My elder daughter pointed me in the direction of Purlbee as she knew how I enjoyed looking for new knitting patterns and beautiful wool. Purlbee is just the site for that. A World of Inspiration: The Purl Bee, Created for You by Purl Soho 

The reason I mention this is I have just completed a jumper from a Purlsoho pattern. I first spotted the pattern on Pinterest as I follow The Purl Bee there. The pattern is called Bobble Yoke sweater.

Purlsoho site

We really only have one wool shop close to where I live and the wool required for this pattern was not available there so I had to wait until my recent trip to Melbourne to purchase the correct wool for the pattern from Morris and Sons.  You can tell from this that this particular exercise didn’t help to diminish my wool stash. 🙂

The pattern is knitted from the neck down on a circular needle.  I have knitted many items on circular needles but this is the first time I have knitted from the neck down.

neck down yokeThe pattern starts with two strands of 2ply cashmere and then moves to one strand of 4 ply with one strand of cashmere.  The bobble is done only with the strand of 4 ply.  The remainder of the jumper is with 2 strands of 4 ply.

I really enjoyed knitting this jumper as it was quick to complete.  The only part I am not too sure about is the neckband which appears a bit flimsy for my liking.

bobble yoke sweater

2 thoughts on “Purlsoho or Purlbee have you heard of either?

  1. Yes, I have heard of Purl Soho, they are located in New York City, I read about them in a knitting magazine. I have also seen their advertisements in magazines. I like your sweater very much!

    • It is a great website and one that I follow carefully as they provide lots of good ideas. It would be great if there was a branch of here in Australia.

Leave a Reply

