The perfect gift for me

My son gave me the perfect gift for my birthday.  A cheese making kit.

cheese making kit
I mentioned in the previous post that we had been busy recently so I have only just made my first batch of cheese – my birthday was in December.

The kit comes with instructions for making Marinated Feta and Queso Fresco.  I decided to give marinated feta a try as it stores for longer than the queso fresco.  There are only the two of us at home and we can only eat a certain amount of cheese and I don’t want to waste it.

The process was a bit fiddly but I need to keep in mind that this was my first try.  I felt a bit unsure of myself but when the product was bottled I was delighted with the result.

You start with 4 litres of milk which is a lot.  The pot I started off with was too small

cheese making1and I transferred the milk to another pot before continuing.

You add rennet and citric acid when the milk reaches 95degrees, this produces the curds.

cheese making 2After resting for a period the curds are then drained in muslin over the sink.

cheese making 3the drained curds are then put in the mould in the cheese container.  A weight is put on top.  I had to improvise with the weight and will use a different weight next time.

cheese making 4After resting for a period the cheese is taken out and cut into half inch cubes.

cheese making 5You can see from that picture that the edges of the mould are a bit crumbly as it was not compacted sufficiently.  I will fix that with the next batch I do.

The cut cheese is then returned to the cheese container which has a brine solution in it. After resting for a period in the brine the cheese is then drained and dried and packed into a sterilised jar.

cheese makingChopped fresh herbs were added and then canola oil which will give the final result of marinated feta after one week.

IMG_2742

Can’t wait to try it. 

7 thoughts on “The perfect gift for me

Leave a Reply

