Recent reads, part 1

It seems ages since I last posted about the books I have read so this one is a catch up post on those books I have read since The Name of the Rose.

This is one I bought when I was in Melbourne with my younger daughter.  I had said I wasn’t going to buy any books this year but I HAD TO as I finished the book I had taken with me and needed another one!

I had listened to a review of this book on ABC Radio National and thought it would be a good read.  It certainly was. The story is set in Atlanta in 1974 at a time when racism and sexism are highly evident in the police force.  I will certainly be looking for other books by this author now that I have read this one.

From the cover:

As a brutal killing rocks the city, Kate Murphy wonders if her fist day on the police force will also be her last.  For life is anything but easy in the male dominated world of the Atlanta Police Department.

Kate isn’t the only woman on the force who is finding things tough.  Maggie Lawson followed her uncle and brother into the ranks to prove her worth in their cynical eyes.When Maggie and Kate become partners, and are sidelined in the search for the city’s cop killer, they decide to pursue their own line of investigation.  But are they prepared to risk everything as they venture into the city’s darkest heart?

An absolute thriller. Well worth the read. This is Karin Slaughter‘s first stand alone novel. She has written two series so I will need to check them out.  I don’t know why I haven’t come across her before this.

Leave a Reply

