A very easy recipe

dutch ginger cakeThis recipe is from one of my old cookbooks.  We haven’t been eating cakes recently but we were having visitors so I thought I ought to make a cake for having with our cups of tea!

The recipe is from The Australian Womens’s Weekly – Best recipes from the Weekly

Dutch Ginger Cake

1 3/4 cups plain flour

1 cup castor sugar

125 g glace ginger ( I use crystalised)

1 egg

185g butter

30g blanched almonds ( I usually use slivered almonds and scatter them over the top)

Sift flour, add sugar and chopped ginger, mix in melted butter and egg.  Press mixture into well greased 20cm sandwich tin,(I use a quiche tin).  Brush top with a little milk, decorate with almonds.  Bake in moderate oven 45 minutes – I check after 35 minutes.  Cool in tin, cut into wedges to serve.

The cake is firm, sort of like a shortbread.  Delicious.

 

 

2 thoughts on “A very easy recipe

  1. Oh brilliant. I’m definitely going to try this. I used to get a similar slice at a cafe in castlemaine years ago but never knew a recipe. Cheers

Leave a Reply

