Scraps into little figures

woollen dollsJust trying to use up some of my left-over wool.  Unfortunately it doesn’t use much wool so I think I will be making a few.

About thirty years ago I made dolls like these for an orphanage in the Philippines.  I came across the pattern when I was having a bit of a tidy up in my work room – that is how I happen to have made them again.knitted dolls 2These two are not complete.  The arms and legs are formed by stitching through the stuffed dolls.  You can see that the size varies depending on the type of wool used and the amount of stuffing inserted.

The pattern I used was a hand written one which I must have copied from a book at some stage.  The creator of the pattern was Gwen Merrill and I did a search on the internet and found the name of the book on Ravelry

Family Circle Dolls and Cuddly ToysThe book is no longer in print but you can find copies on ebay or maybe at your local library.

 

One thought on “Scraps into little figures

Leave a Reply

