A well concealed hidey-hole.

One of the travels I had last year was to Heidelburg to visit the Heide Museum of Modern Art.

Heide Museum of Modern ArtNot looking too much like a museum but this is the original residence of Sunday and John Reed who donated this house, their new house and the surrounding land as the Heide Museum of Modern Art.  You can read the fascinating story of John and Sunday Reed here.  In 2013 I did a post about a book I had read called Autumn Laing by Alex Miller. There is a link to Sunday Reed and Sidney Nolan in that novel.

My elder daughter took me to the museum as there was an exhibition of art by Margaret Preston, Grace Cossington-Smith and Georgia O’Keefe during the holidays.

I have always liked Margaret Preston’s art and I made sure that I bought a print for framing when I got home.  It is in my “to do” pile.

In the original homestead there were paintings by Charles Blackman, another of my favourites, from his Alice in Wonderland series.

Alice's footAliceSidney Nolan was a friend of Sunday and John Reed and it was on a table in the study that he painted many of his paintings for the Ned Kelly series.  There was one painting hanging in the study.

Sidney Nolan, Ned KellyThe Museum has much more than just the art gallery as there is also a sculpture garden

and an operational vegetable garden that provides much of the produce for the cafe.

This museum is well worth a visit if you are near Heidelberg in Melbourne.

2 thoughts on “A well concealed hidey-hole.

    • We have certainly been warm recently here in Australia. This week’s forecast is for extreme heatwave conditions but more so in N.S.W. and Queensland.
      O hope you get pleasant weather while you are here. Not too hot. Heather

Leave a Reply

