Some lovely Ikat linen fabric.

This fabric is what I chose for my next item which is a shirt dress.  I didn’t realise when I bought the pattern that the shirt dress is the fashion item for this summer.  I think that must refer to the northern hemisphere as we are about to enter winter here.

I chose view C for my dress.

This pattern was more involved than the previous two items I made but I thoroughly enjoyed the challenge as the end result was worth it.

The front had a placket which means that the buttons and buttonholes are hidden.

I had my usual issue with buttons in that I didn’t have nine buttons of the particular size and colour in my stash so I had to buy buttons.  The buttons cost $10 which is ridiculous in comparison to the cost of the fabric.  If I had thought about it more carefully I could have gone to a thrift store and bought an old shirt and perhaps got nine buttons from that at a fraction of the cost.  I will know next time.

The sleeves can be worn up or down.

I love the finished product.

 

One thought on “Some lovely Ikat linen fabric.

Leave a Reply

