The Gippsland Granny is back!

I have been overseas for three months and I made the decision not to blog while I was away.  I was in France for six weeks and the UK for six weeks, the bulk of it in Scotland. I returned yesterday so I can now take up where I left off.

My dad often used to quote poetry and seemed to have an appropriate quote no matter what the situation.  While I was in Scotland there were so many memories of poetry lines quoted by my father but the one that remained strongly in my mind during the trip was this one:

Breathes there the man with soul so dead
Who never to himself hath said,
This is my own, my native land!

The quote comes from a lengthy poem entitled The Lay of the Last Minstrel

by Sir Walter Scott, a well-known Scottish poet and novelist.

I think the country where you spend your formative years has a huge impact on your store of memories and I must admit I was glad that I had the opportunity to spend my formative years in Scotland and then even more fortunate to spend the following years in Australia which is a wonderful country of opportunity.  I am forever grateful that my parents decided to emigrate to Australia.

I will be doing a few posts about my travels and the experiences I had but today’s post is just a short one.

Needless to say I have a great deal of catch up to do on the A-Z Book Challenge.  I did do quite a bit of reading while I was away but I will need to do the reviews before adding them to my list in the Challenge.

5 thoughts on “The Gippsland Granny is back!

    • I had a wonderful time in Scotland. Alas I think we only got to one tea room. We just didn’t seem to have the time. We plan to go back soon!

Leave a Reply

