1898 Hat

on

IMG_3975This hat was made using a pattern by Kristine Byrnes and the pattern I found on the Seamen’s Church Institute website.

Screen shot 2016-01-12 at 7.37.08 AMVolunteer knitters from around the country (USA) knit garments as symbols of SCI’s mission of hospitality. Each year, SCI distributes these warming gifts to mariners far away from home.

I was not knitting at this stage for the seamen but for my son who does a fair bit of cycling and lives in Canberra where the weather can be very cold. I thought this hat would be good for him.  The headband is knitted side to side and provides a double layer to keep the ears warm. I have knitted two as the pattern is very easy and produces an excellent finished product.

IMG_4063I will be making a few more of these as I have several spare balls of 8 ply wool and the hat only requires two 50 g balls.

There are other patterns available for free on the Seamen’s website if you follow this link and scroll down to the bottom of the page.

2 Comments Add yours

  1. Miriam says:

    A hat for a good cause. Good on you.

  2. That looks very cosy.

Leave a comment

This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.