Not Quite the Man for the Job. . . a couple of poems

on

As a follow up to my post about the book Not Quite the Man for the Job by Adam Ford, I have been contacted by the author and he has very kindly given permission for me to share a couple of the poems from his book.  I think you will see why my students enjoyed the poetry book so much.

For those of you who are unfamiliar with William Carlos Williams’ “This is just to say” . . . here it is.

This is just to say

I have eaten
the plums
that were in
the icebox

and which
you were probably
saving
for breakfast

Forgive me
they were delicious
so sweet
and so cold

6 Comments Add yours

  1. californiabean says:

    Love the reply to “this is just to say”! One of my very favorite poems, and yours is a perfect bookend to it –

  2. Brilliant, I really enjoyed these and can quite understand why they appealed to your students. I didn’t get anything like this at school.

  3. Cassie says:

    Okay, so I couldn’t wait. THIS IS AWESOME. I so want to share this book with my students. I’m going to go buy a copy now. I, too will have dog-eared pages. : )

    1. suth2 says:

      Glad you like it.

  4. Vivienne says:

    This is one of the funniest things I’ve read in some time. Love it.

    1. suth2 says:

      His poems just seemed to resonate with me. The students found many poems that they liked in his book.

Leave a comment

This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.