Cook books, cookery books or cooking ?

I finished my Ian Rankin novel on the weekend and I am now reading a non-fiction book.  I like to have a bit of a change every now and again.  The book I am now reading is The Puddding that Took a Thousand Cooks. It is another of my books that I have had for some time but haven’t got around to reading.  This is the cover of the 1998 edition I am reading.

The Pudding that Took a Thousand Cooks, written by the Australian author Michael Symons, charts the history of cooks since they wielded the first stone knives.

The book was first published in 1998 but was republished in 2004 as A History of Cooks and Cooking.

This is the American cover:

This is the English cover:

There are some reviews to be found at the Prospect books website .

From the back of the new edition:

Do you enjoy cooking or are you more the person who enjoys someone else’s cooking?  Do you consider yourself to be a good cook?

Leave a comment

This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.