I have issues with spring-form tins. . . .

on

Many, many years ago I made a sponge cake using two spring-form tins.  The cakes baked beautifully but when I unfastened the spring-form tin, somehow the hot ring slid down onto my arm and naturally I jumped.  The cake also jumped out of my hand, I just happened to be at the sink at the time, and the sponge landed in the water in the sink.  Of course the sponge soaked up all the water and the cake was not to be.  Although the sponge was a successful bake we didn’t get to eat it, just the other half.

Last week I decided to make a recipe called Ruffled Milk Pie from Smitten Kitchen.  It sounded really simple and to me it was a fancy decorative version of custard tart.  Maybe I should say cursed tart?  I carefully followed the recipe and all was going smoothly until it came time to put it in the oven for the second time, the first time was with the pastry alone.

I carefully added the liquid to the pastry and then started to carry it to the oven.  Guess what?  The liquid started to pour onto the floor.  Why, you ask?  Well I had used a spring-form tin.  What an idiot I am.  I completely forgot that there was going to be liquid in the recipe and of course it would not be contained in the spring-form tin.

I was able to sort of rescue it, minus a fair amount of custard,  and it did taste good although it was too sweet.  Not to be beaten I decided to do the recipe the next day using an ordinary tin and using less sugar in the recipe.  The end result was fine.

This is before the pastry is baked.

This is the finished article.

2 Comments Add yours

  1. Lorna says:

    I feel your pain, those sorts of experiences can be very deflating, but the ruffled pie looks delicious.

    1. suth2 says:

      It was delicious but I don’t think I will be making it again, twice is enough.

Leave a comment

This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.