The Cookbook Collector and dot coms.

on

What a delicious book.

Cookbook Collector

I loved this from start to finish.  I was able to lose myself in some romance while learning a little about the rise and fall of dot com companies.  Add in the September 11 disaster, sisters and family history mysteries and this is a book that should keep you reading.

From the cover:

At the turn of the last century, two sisters are following very different paths. Twenty-eight year old Emily is CEO of an internet start-up: twenty-three year old Jess is a philosophy student who rejects capitalism.  Pragmatic Emily is making a fortune in Silicon Valley while capricious Jess works in an antiquarian bookstore.  Emily’s boyfriend is fantastically successful: Jess’s is and environmental activist.  But with the dot.com bubble soon to burst and 9/11 about to cast a dark shadow over America, both sisters become torn between two loves, two lives . . . 

4 Comments Add yours

  1. Meg THompson (@queenAdeline) says:

    Sounds like a good one I’ll have to download it to my kindle.

    1. suth2 says:

      I didn’t realise you had a Kindle too. Kate has one. I think I might have to bite the bullet and get one.

  2. The title and the little blurb both make me want to read this one. You get through a lot of books Heather!

    1. suth2 says:

      I used to read a great deal but I don’t read as much these days except when I am on holiday.

Leave a comment

This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.