Brambles or blackberries is there any difference?

I think the Scots call them brambles and everyone else calls them blackberries. 🙂

While our elder daughter was staying with us last weekend we went  blackberrying.

20130212-110621.jpg
This doesn’t look like a very good spot for blackberries but we were able to find enough for our needs. I had seen blackberries on my morning walks but I had not spotted these ones and they were closer to home than the ones I had planned to take the children to.  A shorter walk is better for a two year old!  Our six year old grandson enjoyed himself and like all children when berry picking, enjoyed sampling a few while filling his container.

OLYMPUS DIGITAL CAMERA

After a bit of foraging

OLYMPUS DIGITAL CAMERA

and some scratches on the very helpful two year old, plus some dropped berries, we had a small collection, enough for some jam.

OLYMPUS DIGITAL CAMERA

My daughter made some jam to take home and kindly left a jar of jam for us to enjoy.

OLYMPUS DIGITAL CAMERA

I have some lovely memories as a child collecting brambles in Scotland. My dad used to make crab apple and bramble jelly. Collecting blackberries with my daughter and grandchildren brought back those happy memories.  We also used to go blackberrying in Canberra with my sister’s family.  Our children had lots of fun with their cousins.

Judging by this photo the blackberries will be around for a bit longer so I will have the chance to get some more.

OLYMPUS DIGITAL CAMERA

10 thoughts on “Brambles or blackberries is there any difference?

  1. Great excursion with the bairns! Leon and Ian have been out two or three times already and we have a good store in the freezer now.

  2. We used to pick blackberries in the paddocks behind our house as kids. I loved it but still can feel the itchy scratches when you got caught by a prickle! Your jam looks delicious by the way. 🙂

  3. I wonder why it is that we call them brambles, I really don’t know. My mum is mad keen on harvesting brambles and every autumn her freezer becomes full of them. They last all through the winter, supplying berries to put into apple and blackberry crumbles – delicious! How lovely that you’re carrying on a tradition you remember from your youth, passing it on to your grandchildren.

Leave a Reply

