Why change?

“The secret of change is to focus all of your energy not on fighting the old, but on building the new.” (Socrates)

 

After a totally frustrating session on WordPress yesterday I came across this saying on one of the blogs I follow. It was so apt for the reason for my frustration. I had changed to the new editor for working on my blog having previously worked on the classic editor, that is the original form of WordPress I have been using since I first started my blog. It has reached the point where I must use the new editor as the old one will no longer be supported.

I became thoroughly frustrated as I couldn’t get a new page to add to My Tuesday Travels Page. I wanted to add 2019 Tuesday Travels as a sub page to the Tuesday Travels page and even though it said it was published I was unable to find it anywhere on my blog. I will persevere and see if I can find a way to have some success but not today.

Since drafting this post I have persevered and am now able to do what I wanted to do yesterday. Try, try and try again.

7 Comments Add yours

  1. Yeah the forced change really isn’t a great move from WordPress, I feel. But I’ve been getting acquainted with the Block editor simply because we need to adapt. It’s just that I really don’t like it. Anyway, wishing you the best with it!

    1. suth2 says:

      Like you I really don’t like it. It seems to have complicated things that were simple to do in the previous editor. I will keep going as there is no other option.

  2. I really hate the new editor too.

    1. suth2 says:

      It is taking me so much longer to construct a post. I get the feeling that the blogger has been put to the bottom of the pile and it is now directed towards those who are media savy. Big company sites, not the simple blogger. Shame.

  3. barbora says:

    I had my problems with the new editor when it started, but now I can manage all fairly good. The only way is : learning by doing. Good luck!

    1. suth2 says:

      Thanks Barbora. It is taking me longer to create a post but hopefully I will get more used to it with time.

      1. barbora says:

        This was the same with me!

Leave a comment

This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.