Tuesday travels. . . . Culross, Fife

My sister has often spoken of Culross and she has visited the village when she has travelled to Scotland but I have not managed to visit the place until this last trip when we made a special detour so that I could see the village.

Culross1The Royal Burgh of Culross is the best preserved example of a 17th and 18th century Scottish town. There are cobbled streets with many historic buildings and the village looks out onto the Firth of Forth.  The village has been used in the filming of the series Outlander.

The Outlander series is based on the books by Diana Gabaldon The books are historical fiction mixed with time travel, adventure etc. I will need to find a copy of the first book in the series and make time to read it.  As an aside, I have so many books on my bookshelves waiting to be read I will need to jump this one up the list when I find it.

Click on the photos to see a larger version. The name Culross is pronounced Coo-ross and well worth a visit as it is like a step back in time.

Leave a Reply

