Australia Day and a summer of cricket what better way to return to blogging?

Australia-Day

I’m back.

I have been absent from the blogging scene for a while as Christmas, New Year, plus school holidays is a time for family.  I have been really fortunate in that I have had time with our grandchildren over the holidays and time spent with young ones always helps to recharge old batteries and make one feel young again.  I have loved every minute of it and look forward to when I next get to spend time with them.

Today is Australia Day and what better way to spend it than watching the cricket?  Having our grandson with us during the holidays was a bonus for me as I had someone who wanted to watch the cricket.  My husband is not really interested in cricket so I usually watch by myself.  It was great to have someone, so knowledgable on cricket, to share the viewing with me.  He is passionate about his cricket and most days we went over to the local primary school so he could practise his bowling in the nets.

Australia really has been spoilt for choice with sport this summer.  The Australian Open Tennis is on, we have just finished the cycling Tour Down Under and we have the One Day Internationals for cricket and the Big Bash League for cricket.  The final is to be held on Wednesday between the Sydney Sixers and Perth Scorchers.  My team, the Melbourne Stars were thoroughly beaten last night in the semi-final.  Now I would like the Sixers to win as Brett Lee is in that team and he is about to retire.

BBL04-Schedule-pmAnd of course there is the World Cup for cricket which starts in February.  For soccer/football there has been the Asian Cup.  Who could forget Tim Cahill’s fantastic goals?  What sport do you watch, if any, or are you busy participating in sport yourself?

 

2 thoughts on “Australia Day and a summer of cricket what better way to return to blogging?

  1. Happy Australia Day! Delighted to see you back, I was missing you. Great little video of your grandson. I don’t watch a lot of sport but I do get quite engrossed in the Wimbledon tennis championships and I also enjoy the odd bit of golf, which I find relaxing to watch. I don’t participate in any sports these days, although I did play badminton for my school team many moons ago.

    • We used to play badminton in the back garden when we lived in Scotland. Needless to say the wind often played havoc with the shuttlecock!
      I no longer participate in sport other than the occasional bike ride which is not really sport, more just exercise.

Leave a Reply

