I have been in Melbourne too.

on

I have also been away in Melbourne for a few days.  I was spending some time with my elder daughter and her family.  It was the school holidays in Victoria so I was able to spend some time with my grandchildren.  I took my bike down to Melbourne so we went for a couple of bike rides while I was there.To be able to spend time with my children and grandchildren brings much happiness and keeps me going until I next see them.  It is also good to see the house and garden and see the results of all the hard work that has gone on.  My daughter loves gardening and the garden certainly shows that love.  She has also been busy painting the exterior of the house and the difference is remarkable.  It looks fantastic.

I had taken a gift for each of our grandchildren and one of the gifts was a healthy kids cookbook.This is the selling blurb for the book:

Experts tell us the best way to teach kids healthy eating habits is to involve them in the process. This irresistibly charming cookbook presents 60 fun, appealing recipes kids will beg to make themselves, in uniquely creative photo collage illustrations they will love. Bursting with color, humor, cute animal characters, and cool facts (Did you know your brain actually shrinks when you’re dehydrated? Drink water, quick!), Help Yourself inspires and empowers children to take charge of their own nutrition – for now and for life. Recipes include: fun-to-munch hand-held snacks like Life Boats, bright fruit-flavored drinks like Tickled Pink, the always-popular things on toast like Leprechaun Tracks, salads they will actually eat like Tiger Stripes, cozy small meals like Tomato Tornado and sweets like chocolatey Disappearing Dots, because everybody likes candy!

My granddaughter loved the book and was keen to make some of the recipes.  Many of the recipes had the ingredient agave syrup and we didn’t have that ingredient so she chose a couple of recipes that didn’t contain that ingredient.  The first thing she made was Power Towers which is just a cut up apple spread with peanut or almond butter.  It was actually quite tricky to do as the butter wouldn’t stick to the apple but she managed and happily took a picture of the end result.

The second recipe she made was chocolate balls.  I can’t remember the exact name of the recipe but these were a huge success and were scoffed before a photo could be taken.

While in Melbourne I also had a girls’ night out but I will tell of that later.

 

Leave a comment

This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.