Brioche, a kind of light sweet bun or roll, not this one.

on

You may remember from a previous post that I received some beautiful wool in the post recently. The wool was bought specifically to knit this garment which I saw on Pinterest. The pattern is available from www.pickles.no
stellaIt is a very loose knit and creates a lovely soft texture.

brioche1It is a bit difficult to see how it will look as it really needs to be stretched on the wearer to get the full idea.

outside briocheThis is the outside of the garment.

inside briocheThis is the inside.

I was very lucky at Christmas as my secret Santa gave me this great book.

brioche bookBrioche in this case is not a kind of light sweet bun or roll but is actually a knitting stitch. The stitch is known by several different names:Prime-rib, shawl stitch, Oriental rib, English rib, Shaker Knitting, Patent Stitch, Fisherman’s Rib and Brioche stitch

14 Comments Add yours

  1. Meg THompson (@queenAdeline) says:

    That’s the cutest dress ever, love that stitch.

    1. suth2 says:

      I hope Maggie likes it.

  2. That dress is precious. I think brioche stitch is really neat.

    1. suth2 says:

      I am enjoying working it.

  3. That’s going to look beautiful when its finished, and it’s so neat inside and out.

    1. suth2 says:

      I hope it will be able to be worn either way.

  4. Northern Narratives says:

    This is so beautiful. I have never done the brioche. Maybe I will put it on next years knitting list 🙂 judy

    1. suth2 says:

      I have done fisherman’s rib before and this particular brioche stitch is fisherman’s rib in two colours worked on alternate rows. Quite simple really. The other brioche stitches, in the book I received for Christmas, look a bit more complicated.

    1. suth2 says:

      I think it will turn out fine.

    2. suth2 says:

      I think it will turn out fine.

Leave a comment

This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.