How fortunate we are to have family

Family-is-like-branches-that-grow-in-different-directionsThe last few weeks it has really hit home to me, even more, the vital role that family plays in my life.  I already appreciated the fact that I have come from a large family and that I am very fortunate to have my husband and three wonderful children but the last week has made me appreciate that good fortune even more.

I am one of seven children.  I am the third youngest. One elder sister died before I was born so I didn’t know her but I know lots about her.

family

My little sister died recently. She had an auto immune disease and so the end was a release from her suffering but it doesn’t make it any easier for her husband and family to bear.

If joy can be taken from death then the remembrance service for my sister was full of joy. Joy at a life lived to the full and the joy she gave to others in the way she lived.  We had the opportunity to say our goodbyes and her children did a wonderful job of capturing the life of their mum in the words they delivered at the service.

The reason I mention family is the fact that sons and daughters along with brothers and sisters were there to support each other as were cousins, and my brother-in-law had his extended family and friends to help him in his grief.  A sorrow shared is a sorrow halved.

Give your family members a hug.  Hugging speaks volumes.

joy and sorrow

6 thoughts on “How fortunate we are to have family

  1. It’s strange how strong blood ties can be. Even if you have a relative you don’t see or speak to for years, the fact that you’re related to them seems to mean something deep down. I’m sorry to hear about your little sister but a joyful remembrance service sounds wonderful.

  2. I’m sorry to hear about your little sisters passing. I lost my little sister on 12 May 2008. (Aged 55 years) I cant believe it is 7 years ago, as I think of her every day. You have so many wonderful memories of your little sis, that will keep you ‘stocked’ with them for many years to come. All my love in this sad time. K,

Leave a Reply

